Sorry, your browser does not support JavaScript! OFCM Groups


Office of the Federal Coordinator for Meteorology


Federal Meteorological Coordinating Groups


OFCM operates with policy guidance from the Federal Committee for Meteorological Services and Supporting Research (FCMSSR). The Chairperson of FCMSSR is the Under Secretary of Commerce for Oceans and Atmosphere, and Administrator of NOAA. The members of the FCMSSR are senior policy executives from the federal agencies with meteorological programs. In addition to reviewing OFCM activities and providing policy guidance, FCMSSR is the final forum to resolve agency differences.

The Interdepartmental Committee for Meteorological Services and Supporting Research (ICMSSR), with a rotating chair assisted by the Federal Coordinator, is the primary program management body of the Federal coordinating structure. ICMSSR provides advice to OFCM, implements FCMSSR policies, and oversees the committees and working groups that address observing systems, weather operations and services, operational processing centers, and automated weather information systems.

The Committees and their Working and Joint Action Groups provide at the program and working level (1) a forum for each agency to report activities, difficulties, and achievements; (2) a mechanism for coordinated change and problem solving; (3) a medium for collection, documentation and consolidation of agency requirements and inventories; (4) oversight for coordinated system development; (5) a vehicle for coordinating with other groups; and (6) a mechanism for the preparation of studies, agreements, standards, protocols, reports, and national plans.

Organizational Chart

To view the following PDF file, Adobe Acrobat Reader is needed. Click on the following link to go to Adobe's website, Organizational Chart in PDF

Group Webpages

OFCM group webpages, where available, are below.


Other Groups

Working Groups

Joint Action Groups